What is graphic design?

So I’ve been looking at stuff all week, all around campus. I just kept thinking to myself, “Ooh, that looks cool, I wonder if it counts as graphic design!” Buildings that I saw, paintings, signs, everything. I’m also in a floral design class, and we have to make a portfolio every week in that class as well, with things that use different design principles, or different floral arrangements.

So, to give me a little more clarification, I looked up “graphic design” in Webster’s dictionary. I got: the art or profession of using design elements (as typography and images) to convey information or create an effect; also : a product of this art.

That doesn’t shed too much light on the subject, because that could be interpreted differently. So, I’m just going to put up things that I think are graphic design, and if I ever get something wrong, just tell me and I’ll put up another picture for that week.

Today was Aggie Ring Day, and my best friend got her ring, so I took a picture of the huge Aggie Ring that they just got.

SDC10517

Its function is to advertise the Aggie Ring, so that anyone driving by will see that that’s the place where everyone gets their Aggie Ring. It is also a great photo opportunity for everyone who just got their Aggie Ring. It’s outside the Alumni center. The design is an enlarged version of what’s on every Aggie ring. I really like that they chose the antiqued version for the statue so that the intricacy is more viewable. The typography on the inside of the ring is very scripty, and very large, so it matches the ring perfectly. The quality is very high, it’s obvious how much detail goes into an Aggie Ring, when you see it 12 feet tall. I was attracted to the piece first because of its size and second because of the mark it makes on the Alumni Center and A&M. It’s a very necessary statue, and I’m glad they installed it.

Leave a Reply

