I have many and diverse Pinterests

I have a new love on the Internet — Pinterest.com. It’s a little hard to explain, but I want to share my love with everyone, so I’m going to take a good stab at it.

Pinterest is a website where people (mostly female) can go and post pictures of things that they enjoy, or think are pretty. They’re called “pins” and you pin them to “boards.” Users can have as many boards as they want, and typically group similar pictures together.

The neat thing about Pinterest is that users post pictures from other websites, and the picture has a link back to the website. So, for instance, if you see a pair of shoes you fall in love with, you can post it on Pinterest, people can look at the picture and then go to the website and buy the shoes.

The same goes for tutorials, and recipes, and of course other products. Here’s a funny definition of the site (that I found on Pinterest, of course) .

The dictionary doesn't lie, you know.

It’s also very user-interactive. Once you get an account (you have to sign up, and they put you on a waiting list — much like a good restaurant) you can create as many boards as you like (I have 11) and also follow other people’s boards.

When browsing the site, you first see the pins that the users whose boards you follow have posted, and when you click on “everything” you can see the newest and most popular pins. If you have something specific you’re looking for, you can search for a pin. When you see a pin you like, you just click “Repin” on the photo, and add it to one of your boards, and post a description of it. In searches, the description is what keywords the website looks at, so I try to be succinct and descriptive in my photos.

This is a fairly new site, they’re still in the early stages, and that’s another thing that gets me excited about it, because I know how much it’s going to grow and get even better.

The designer in me loves the layout of the website, it’s so crisp and clean. The white borders around the photos keep it from looking cluttered, and the beauty of the photos keep me enraptured.

The girly-girl in me loves looking at the photos themselves. As I said, it seems to be primarily girls on the site, and most of the colors are pastels, the food looks delectable, and the clothes are lovely. I would venture a guess that one of the most popular boards made is “Wedding ideas.”

Quite simply, I’m addicted to Pinterest. I spend quite a bit of time browsing the “everything” tab because there’s always something new there. In case I’ve piqued your interest, or you’re already a convert, feel free to follow my boards. Find me here:

http://pinterest.com/kalee11/

If you post on my wall, I’ll take a look at your boards too! I’m always interested in discovering others’ interests. Or should I say, Pinterests.

Pinterest quote

Leave a Reply

