The Crash

Have you ever been having a busy, happy day when all of a sudden you stop for like five minutes and then get really depressed all of a sudden? That happens to me more often than is good for me.  I call it “the crash.”

I thrive on activity. I love having 20 things to do and organizing them all throughout my day. I get simple joy out of continuously moving, never sitting still. But everyone has to rest sometime. As soon as I finish, and start relaxing, I feel an emotional crash. I get very reflective and sad for really no reason at all. I don’t know what makes my mood shift so quickly, but I can always blame it on the fact that I’m a girl. 🙂

The way I’ve learned to deal with this is by doing something slow and relaxing that makes me happy, like reading a chapter of my book. I also think about all the good things in my life.  Sometimes I make lists. I love lists. I’ll make a list about all the new things I need to do tomorrow, or a list of goals that I have, or even a list of things that brighten my day.

Like Granger Smith holding kittens. Nothing could make me happier.

The good news about when I crash is that I know it won’t last too long. Pretty soon I’ll be feeling better than ever. What makes you crash? Do you have any therapy ready for when you do?

One thought on “The Crash

Leave a Reply

