Day 7: Churchill Downs, home of the Kentucky Derby!

The sweat glistening on the horses’ flanks, the hooves galloping on the muddy soil, the cheering crowds, the ostentatious headwear. These are the images that come to mind when one thinks of the Kentucky Derby, and I greatly enjoyed seeing Churchill Downs firsthand, and the confirmation that these images are indeed the heart of that particular horse race.

Touring Churchill Downs piqued my interest in horses and horse racing, and I think this will affect my life in that it’s now one of my goals to see the Kentucky Derby, and get the whole experience, hats and all. I am completely in love with Kentucky country, and definitely plan on coming back as soon as possible.

The horses are the main attraction of the Kentucky Derby, and I loved finding out that each horse gets celebrated. True fans remember the name of Secretariat’s jockey, trainer and owner, but across America, everyone knows of Secretariat. The horse itself is the hero of the hour, year or sometimes even decade, depending upon its speed and acclaim.

Society loves excitement of almost every kind, and fast horses are no exception. The Kentucky Derby attracts so many millionaires and celebrities because of its history and entertainment value, and it’s small wonder the event is so beloved and attended.

It astounded me that everyone who lived and breathed horse racing could tell you not only who won each Kentucky Derby, but more than likely how much they won by, who they edged out and sometimes even which famous hats attended. In Kentucky, horse racing isn’t just a sport, it’s a way of life.

2 thoughts on “Day 7: Churchill Downs, home of the Kentucky Derby!

  1. I know! It’s because they were Canon Raw files and I couldn’t upload them 😦 That’s why I stopped on Day 7. But I got them converted now so I can keep going.

Leave a Reply

