April 2014 Birchbox Review

Like I mentioned in my last post, I just subscribed to Birchbox, a service that sends you different high-end beauty samples and products each month. It’s a ton of fun trying everything, and I love the surprise of what’s going to be in my box! It costs $10 a month, and now that I’ve had the chance to try all the products in my box I decided to review them.

Kalee's excited

My face when I got my Birchbox in the mail. I’m a little excited, if you couldn’t tell.

Birchbox April Collage

The theme for this month’s Birchbox was Rainy Days, and they included one tip for things you can do on a rainy day. I got tip number 8, “Gather your scissors, glue and washi tape, and get cracking on reinventing old Birchboxes.” I am newly obsessed with washi tape, so this seems like a great idea to me. You can see more tips at my last blog post here.

Beauty Protector Protect and Detangle

This is a product that you can only find at Birchbox, Beauty Protector’s Protect and Detangle. It’s a leave-in conditioner. The sample size is quite nice, and while it was a little hard to get the spray working, once I unscrewed the top and stirred it a little, it came out quite nicely. I put this on my hair after a shower, and my absolute favorite thing about it is how great it smells. It’s very coconutty, and it lasts all day so my hair smells amazing. I’m not sure how great it does at detangling, though, and I didn’t think my hair was noticeably shinier, but I still love this product. It’s definitely a win.

Color Club nail polish

This nail polish is another Birchbox exclusive, Color Club Gala’s Gems Collection. The collection comes with four colors, and in my box I got  one, “Aquamarine Azulino.” The name is a mouthful but the color is a beautiful light blue that’s great for summer, and it went on very nicely and didn’t clump or chip right away. It looked fine with one coat, but I added a second and the color really popped. Another great find.

SuperGoop CC Cream
This sample of Supergoop!’s Daily Correct CC Cream was super tiny. I’ve only used it once so far but I loved how light it felt on my face. The foundation also has an spf of 35, which is the most I’ve ever seen in a cream like this so that was a big plus. I probably only have one use left on this stuff, so I’m saving it for a sunny day because I’m not sure I would be willing to shell out the 32 dollars for a full size.

Sumita Eyeliner
The last beauty item in my box was Sumita Color Contrast Eyeliner in Deep Purple. I’ve heard that purple looks great with green eyes, so I really liked the color! I didn’t think this color went on very smoothly, but I don’t usually wear eyeliner, so I’m probably just not applying it correctly. It did last a long time, though, and the color didn’t smear, which was great. I liked the sample size a lot, and it’s going to last me a while.

KIND grain bars
In addition to the numerous beauty and skincare products, each Birchbox comes with a “lifestyle extra,” which can be anything from food to hair ties. This month everyone got a KIND healthy grain bar in Maple Pumpkin Seeds with Sea Salt. The premise behind these bars is that they don’t come with preservatives or weird ingredients, and are gluten free. I care more about the taste than anything else, and I thought these were pretty good. I’ve never had pumpkin seeds in anything, but was pleasantly surprised. Some of the other KIND bars fall apart really easily, and I think that I’d like the Dark Chocolate Chunk bars even more, but all in all this was a good product to get as well.

The overall value of my box was around $13, which means while it’s not that much of a good value, it’s a fun, small monthly expenditure and I am definitely buying again next month! Way to go Birchbox!

 

 

One thought on “April 2014 Birchbox Review

Leave a Reply

