Influenster – Mary Kay Voxbox Review

So, I recently signed up for Influenster, a product review website, and they sent me a Voxbox, containing Mary Kay products for me to test out and review. I loved getting this box, and I had so much fun trying out all the products.

DSC_0832

My box came in the mail! It was an exciting moment.

DSC_0833

It started off right, saying “Hello gorgeous!” and “Hola bella” Then I got a Mary Kay catalog  and information about the products.

DSC_0838

The packaging is so pretty and pink!

DSC_0839

OK, now what you’ve been waiting for: the products. To start, I applied my regular moisturizer and foundation.

The first thing I tried was the Mary Kay Translucent Loose Powder, and I loved how easy this went on with the Cheek Brush, and how nice it made my overall look. My skin was practically glowing.  Then I applied the Bronzing Powder, and that just upped the glowing factor to new levels. It wasn’t overwhelming, though, and since I again used the cheek brush it went on really nicely. The last thing I used for my cheeks, and my favorite cheek item, was the Mineral Cheek Color in a gorgeous pink! I always wear blush, but applying this with the big brush and it had such a light color that it really made a difference from what I’m used to.

Now for my eyes. I applied the Gel Eyeliner with Expandable Brush Applicator in Jet Black first, and I thought this product was very cool and chic. I’m not the greatest eyeliner applier, so the second time I wore this I got some tips from a friend. I was able to get it in a pretty straight line, and the color was very bold. It went on smoothly, and didn’t smudge throughout the day, which I liked. I think I’d still probably go with a regular pencil, but I definitely liked trying out the gel. Next I applied the Cream Eye Color in Apricot Twist. This was my favorite eye product from Mary Kay. I loved the shimmer of this shadow, and it went on so easily with the Cream Eye Color/Concealer Brush. It also works as both a day and a night eye color, which is a big plus for me because I tend to use the same products once I find one I love. I finished my eye look with the Lash Love Mascara. This didn’t clump terribly, which can be a big problem for me, and it definitely lengthened and darkened my eyelashes, so yay! for that. The only issue I have with this mascara is that I found it almost impossible to remove. I used Mary Kay’s eye makeup remover, and while some of it came off, some of the mascara definitely lasted into the next day.

Eyes crop
My eye look

To finish my look completely, I put on NouriShine Plus Lip Gloss in Mango Tango. This color is super bright, which is great for spring! It’s definitely one of those glosses you would not want to wear on top of a lipstick. I did think this gloss was pretty sticky, which is one reason glosses usually aren’t my favorite. I prefer a classic lipstick, but it was fun to branch out!

beforeafter
My before and after shot. Everyone knows you’re not allowed to look happy in the before.

So there you have it. I wore this #MKGlam look to my roommate’s bridal shower, and got a ton of compliments! It was definitely a look I’d repeat! I’ll definitely have to stock up on more of the blush when I run out, and I can’t wait to try the cream eye color in some other shades. Overall, a great set of products from a great company.

I received these products complimentary from Influenster for testing purposes.

3 thoughts on “Influenster – Mary Kay Voxbox Review

  1. Your new MK makeup looks great! I had a friend who sold Mary Kay and some of their stuff is really great quality. I love your smile suppression face 🙂 Looks like you got some pretty awesome products in your voxbox, I’m jealous. I didn’t understand how Influenster worked and ended up unlocking a bunch of other badges instead of the beauty one which directly relates to my blog -_- Haha oh well.

  2. Thanks! Yeah, some of the boxes are better than others I think. I got lucky with a good one 🙂 And don’t give up hope, I actually don’t have the beauty badge and I still ended up with this box, I think it’s pretty random.

Leave a Reply

