Birchbox Limited Edition Modern Mermaid Review

I recently made my first points purchase at Birchbox, and I could not be happier with what I got. After only four months with Birchbox I’ve been able to accumulate $40 in points, and I spent all of them! I finally got the Limited Edition Modern Mermaid Box that I’ve been wanting since its release, and I got a full size in one of my favorite samples, Beauty Protector’s Protect and Detangle. (You can read my review of it here.) Together, the products were $65.95, but I used code WELCOME20 to save 20% on my first purchase, and with my points in there as well, the total came out to $12! Not bad for my first go-round!

DSC_1039

 

There’s my BirchboxBrag, I’ll have to add it on Instagram as well.

DSC_1040

 

This box is so precious, I can’t wait to repurpose it. As usual, the box also came with a list of products included.

DSC_1041

 

An inside look at all 9 products (you can’t really see the nail polishes, though, haha).

DSC_1042

 

Ok, down to the nitty gritty. The first product I saw was the Vasanti Kajal Extreme Eye Pencil in Electric Navy (FULL SIZE! value $18). Electric is definitely the best word for this color, but I think it looks amazing. It went on really smoothly and didn’t smudge for most of the day, which is a definite win. I don’t have an eye liner in this shade and I’m really excited in wearing it when I want to make a statement.

Also in the photo is Anastasia Lash Genius Waterproof Topcoat (value $13.26). This is a deluxe sample that you’re supposed to wear over your favorite mascara to make it waterproof. This seems a little silly to me (why not just wear a waterproof mascara?) but I don’t actually have a waterproof mascara so I guess it could come in handy. I actually like using this best just as a clear mascara, though, because it gives me a pretty laidback look that I like, while still having something to lengthen and draw attention to my lashes.

DSC_1045

 

The original Modern Mermaid box actually included Captain Blankenship’s sea salt spray, but when I bought mine it had been substituted for Davines This is a Sea Salt Spray (value $10.80). I have no opinion on the product switch, but I must say the Captain Blankenship packaging is much cuter. I already have a sea salt spray, but this one smells a lot different from my lavender one, and is much more suited for travelling. It works about the same, too, I think, so that’s a plus.

DSC_1044

 

Next up is a travel spray of Atelier Cologne (value $7.88). I like that this is bigger than most of the perfume samples I get, and like I’ve said in the past I like wearing expensive perfume sometimes because it makes me feel fancy. This one smells, to me anyway, very strongly of limes. I like it, though, it’s very summery and I can see why it was included in this box.

I absolutely love this full size Coola Liplux SPF 30 lip balm (value $12). It went right in my purse and I put it on all the time because I love that it has an SPF. My lips can become really chapped in the summer heat, and I think this product helps that a lot. It also smells really good, and doesn’t feel too heavy or slick on my lips, which is pretty important.

DSC_1046

 

One of the secondary reasons I bought this box is because of how much I loved one of Ruffian’s Rapture Collection polishes, and this Ruffian’s Endless Summer Collection (value $26.50) is actually better because I love all the shades so much. You only need one coat of this polish for total coverage, and it lasts a normal amount of time without chipping (a few days, if I’m lucky – I’m hard on my nails).

DSC_1036

 

I put the Blue Lagoon shade on pretty much immediately, and I’m not gonna lie, I totally felt like a mermaid.

DSC_1043

 

The final product is this absolutely precious iridescent Stephanie Johnson Mermaid Mirror (value $22). I like the soft covering, I feel like it has less of a chance of cracking, and of course I love how it looks like a fin and changes colors in the light. Only one side of this actually has a mirror, but that all right because it’s big enough for my purposes. Definitely a hit.

Whew! Made it through the box. Overall, the value of this box was an astounding $110.44 so I made out like a bandit by snagging it plus the detangler for $12. And that, ladies and gentlemen, is why I love Birchbox so much (well, that and the customer service).

4 thoughts on “Birchbox Limited Edition Modern Mermaid Review

  1. This is a really cool box! There are a few products I don’t think I would use, which is why I didn’t buy it. I really want to try the Protect & Detangle too!

    • Yeah, the limited edition boxes are a great value, but the downside is you have more chance of not wanting one of the items.

Leave a Reply

