October Birchbox Review

October Birchbox time! I had an average month this go-round. I liked the theme, Fanfare (all about books and movies and the things we’re obsessing over this fall) but Birchbox didn’t do as much with it as I would have hoped. For instance, Birchbox man’s box looked like a football (give the football fangirls some love too Birchbox!), but all the girls got was a card where you were supposed to write in the shows you’ve been watching nonstop.

DSC_1089

DSC_1091

I went with my old standby, Friends, because I could seriously watch nothing but this show and be happy. The other ones I’m obsessing over right now, though, are Once Upon a Time, New Girl, Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D., Gilmore Girls (out on Netflix!), Castle and Legend of Korra. New Girl hasn’t been great this season, though, all the characters are acting really slutty right now (the writers’ description for them, not mine) and I don’t like it. Anyway, on to my box:

DSC_1093

Ojon rare blend oil rejuvenating therapy – My two so-so items. The oil actually spilled as I was trying to get it off the paper card it comes with, but I saved it enough of it to use it. It makes my hair soft but I like other hair products I’ve gotten from Birchbox better.

suki exfoliate foaming cleanser – The exfoliating cleanser actually confused me as I was applying it. See, I originally thought it was a face cleanser, but when I started to put it on my face it felt so rough that I changed my mind and decided it was like a scrub for my hands. So I used it on my hands, only to read later that it actually was for my face and I was right the first time. The product itself doesn’t actually say, but I could still very well be the only person to mix this up. When I used it on my face it was rough, but didn’t hurt my skin at all, and it foamed up really nicely and left my face feeling very soft, so that was a plus.

DSC_1094

ModelCo Power Lash Mascara – This is actually the first mascara sample I’ve gotten from Birchbox, so I was excited for it. The brush is nice and big, and it went on really well and looked nice, so that was good. The only downside was the brush was a little too big for the container, and I had to kind of smush it back in there and then mascara got all over the rim. Hopefully the full size has a wider opening.

DSC_1092

Skin&Co Roma Brightening Face Serum – This face cream is yet another product for my nonexistent wrinkles (I’m not even late twenties, Birchbox!) but it does brighten my skin I think, so that’s nice. It’s a very light lotion, pretty liquid-y but it rubs in smoothly and cleanly.

Essentiel Elements Wake Up Rosemary Shower Gel – Good thing this stuff is called Wake Up, because it definitely does. The scent is really strong. I like it, though, so no complaints here and other than the scent it’s pretty much like every other shower gel. I’m glad I got to try this.

So there we have it. My Birchboxes have definitely started to follow a trend, but every once in a while I’ll get a standout product, and that’s what keeps me looking forward to the next box.

Leave a Reply

