Gamefly Free Trial Review

So back when I got my Loot Crate, it came with a code for a free one-month trial of Gamefly. Now, anyone can get a free trial, but what makes this a deal is that normally you only get to try the one-disc deal, and the code was for two discs at a time. My trial just ended and I definitely feel like I need to talk about my experience.

For those who don’t know, Gamefly is a service that lets you rent DVDs or video games in the mail, for a monthly fee. Any kind of game, and a reasonably large selection of DVDs. (They mostly have more recent titles.) On the two-disc trial you could have two games or DVDs out at once, and when you mailed one back they would send you the next one on your list, so they recommend having a long list in case something isn’t available right away.

However, I had a terrible experience with Gamefly, and I’ll tell you why. Shipping time! It took almost two weeks for ONE GAME to go from them to me (where I kept it for less than a day) and then back to them, so they would ship the next item. If you ever wanted to play something longer before sending it back, you’d never get another game. Gamefly charges $22.95 for their two-disc system, and $15.95 for one disc at a time. In the entire month (and I used every day of my trial) I was able to get four games total, and that was only by keeping them for a day or two at most. So for the one disc I would have been able to get two games total, which means it would have cost me almost $8 a game. That is absolutely outrageous.

The first two games I ordered were Zelda: Ocarina of Time for my 3DS (the only console I have) and The Grand Budapest Hotel. I’ve been wanting to try out some 3DS games (right now I only have Pokemon) and also really like Wes Anderson movies.

Just as I expected, The Grand Budapest Hotel and quirky and sweet, with some really funny moments and some really sad ones. Wes Anderson is known for his movies that don’t have much of a plot, but just ramble from scene to scene, and while this one has more than most, don’t go in expecting a thriller or anything. I definitely recommend this for people who like independent films.

Then Gamefly finally sent me my next two games. (I actually reported The Grand Budapest Hotel missing, it took so long to arrive, so they sent me a second one that didn’t count toward my two-disc total.) They were Lego: Marvel Super Heroes and the movie Blended with Adam Sandler and Drew Barrymore. I realized that I was not going to have time to send these two back and get two more. My month was almost up (if you don’t cancel by the day before, they’ll charge you, but they do give you seven days to get your final games back to them).

I heard a lot of people say they didn’t like Blended, but I thought it was so cute and funny. I loved the African vacation they went on, the scenery was amazing. There were also some really sentimental moments in it. This is Sandler and Barrymore’s third film together, after The Wedding Singer and 50 First Dates. I own both of those and now I think I’m going to buy this one.

So Gamefly is a service with a cool concept, and if I could rent the game on Monday, have it by Wednesday, and have it back by Friday it would be worth it, but right now the shipping is way too slow for Gamefly to be worth my while. Just so you know I’m not exaggerating, my rental history says The Grand Budapest Hotel was sent October 20 and returned November 4, and Blended was sent November 6 and returned November 20. I kept both of these DVDs one and two days, respectively, before putting them right back in the mail.

Leave a Reply

