Birchbox December Review

Whew! What a crazy month December was. I love the holidays but I get so busy during this time, and usually I spend a lot of it sick as well. Regardless, I got another Birchbox (every month, they just keep coming like magic haha), and thought I’d share my thoughts.

DSC_0010

Birchbox loves the holidays too! And they have continued their complimentary adjectives on the shipping labels.

DSC_0014

I love the decorative boxes so much more than the plain brown ones, I hope they keep it up (I already know January’s box looks super cute!)

DSC_0015

This month’s box came with a $10 coupon to Gap, but there were too many restrictions for my liking (you had to claim it to get your code before Dec. 30, and it was only good in-store, and there is no Gap anywhere near me). Still, it was a nice addition and I hope Birchbox continues collaborating with other companies like this.

DSC_0016

Now on to the good stuff! This was a five-item box for me, the standard.

DSC_0020

My PYS (pick your sample) for this month was the Vasanti Kajal Extreme Intense Eye Pencil in Rose Gold. While that is one too many adjectives in the title for my liking, I have the full size of this in Electric Navy and love love love it! And the Rose Gold did not disappoint. It is such a gorgeous color, I often wear it by itself when I want more subtle makeup instead of eyeshadow. This is my fav item in the box, and what keeps my faithful to the PYS system.

I also got the Manna Kadar Lip Locked in the All of Me shade, and it’s a perfectly fine lip gloss but I don’t really like using the tiny samples of these, I lose them more often than not. It’s a great neutral shade to match my eyeliner, though.

DSC_0017

This is my most confusing product, even though I’m probably the only confused one. It’s Rusk Texture Spray, and it’s called a dry finishing spray and is supposed to add texture and volume, and smooth. I can’t figure out if this is a dry shampoo, a hairspray, a sea salt spray or something else entirely. (All right, I know it’s not a sea salt spray because it doesn’t contain sea salt, but it does do similar things to my hair.) It gets a B for effort, though, and I’m going to keep using it.

DSC_0019

Finally, my last two samples. I’ve seen tons of rave reviews about the Cuppa Cuppa tea mask, and while I think it helped my skin it burned some when I applied it. I haven’t used too many masks, but this one wasn’t my favorite. Also, while the Embryolisse Lait-Creme Concentre sounds super fancy (I can’t even pronounce it), it left my skin feeling greasy and heavy.

So overall this was an average box but will continue to be worth it to me considering the points I get each month and the cute extras Birchbox is always doing. Check out my referral link if you’re interested in signing up!

Leave a Reply

